Private use converted barn, annexe, or apartment.

Ad ref# 3662916

zoom
On Bellever Tor 11-2016

For the time being, amidst the restrictions of a pandemic, I've returned to my home in The Netherlands and will spend a year in my home country.
Around March 2021 at the latest, I'll start a new quest for a home for myself. From Jan. 2021 I'll be free to receive housing benefit after receiving settled status in Britain.

Someone who's looking for a house-sitter/gardener, a guardian of a home that is not lived in by the owner, or an offer of a cottage or a converted barn for a tenant, near the Atlantic Ocean coast, please feel free to contact me.

I'm looking for a home where sunlight enters the rooms, plus a garden or when there's no garden, fields around the home, in a rural area, but with access to shops and bus/ train transport on reasonable distance.

As a Dutch citizen, I'm used to cycling. I've got an e-bike and this allows me to live in a rural area. A local bus to shops or a Railway Station is a necessity. Unless there's a farm-shop nearby and stalls with food at the side of the road, in the area.

I'm an easy-going person, as fond of solitude as of being with people. Membership of a choir or a crafting group, active in initiatives that serve the local community, for example, a role in organizing a lunch-club, or work in the communal park or volunteering on the land of a market-garden is welcome.

Since 2017 I've found volunteering work for 2 days a week in a market garden near my home in Devon. Due to my creative work at home, I appreciate solitude and quietude in the home where I live as a tenant, be it through a letting agency or living in a converted barn or annexe, privately rented out by the owner.

I'm retired since 2016, receiving an income from the Dutch government and permanent settlement in Britain, from July 1st 2020 onwards, with the right to receive housing benefits in tow.

I'd rather be informed about future plans to sell the house or use it for other purposes so that my tenancy may come to an end early and unexpectedly.

An official contract, with a fixed length of tenancy for at least 3 years, and a deposit-scheme is part of the tenancy I choose. Cleanliness and a good condition of the house are much appreciated since I'm Dutch. We're orderly and well organized, in our homes and gardens.

I'm not a fussy person and I've got a good sense of humour. I'm flexible, resourceful and creative, with a sober lifestyle and much time spent outdoors, walking, cycling and enjoying free bus rides, since I'm over 60.

A phone call, discussing conditions, before meeting up, is a must for me, since travelling may include long distances. I need to be informed about the size of the rooms, with adverts showing pictures of the home and garden. and the surrounding area where the house is located.

A home on a busy road, near a pub, or in the centre of a town isn't welcome, but a home near the sea, with a view over the sea, an estuary or a lake, is welcome much.

All conditions and responsibilities should be made clear before an agreement is reached and signed. I'm looking for a long term tenancy living on my own.

I am a practical person and straightforward in communication, which is a characteristic of the Dutch. Proof of identity, by handing over a copy of my passport, and a document showing the right to live in England as a Dutch EEA citizen is what I'll bring with me on the day when we meet up for an interview and a viewing of the house.

I've made sure that I'm legally receiving my Dutch income while living in Britain as a retired Dutch citizen with my official address in Utrecht, where my home is. Post-Brexit Britain won't change my right for permanent settlement in Britain. Which isn't the same as citizenship. Any questions that may arise are welcome. Thank you.

Marian van der Veen.

  • Marian
  • 69, professional female
  • Double room wanted

Total budget: £500 pcm

Availability

Available
01 Mar 2021
Minimum term
24 months
Maximum term
36 months

Looking in

  • Bembridge
  • Brighton
  • Cowes
  • East Cowes
  • Freshwater
  • Guernsey
  • Isles Of Scilly
  • Jersey
  • Lewes
  • Newport
  • Ryde
  • Rye
  • Sandown
  • Seaford
  • Seaview
  • Shanklin
  • Tintagel
  • Totland Bay
  • Ventnor
  • Yarmouth

Amenities required

  • en suite
  • broadband
  • washing machine
  • garden/roof terrace
  • balcony

About me

Age
69
Smoker?
No
Any pets?
No
Language
English
Nationality
Netherlander
Occupation
Professional
Interests
Nature, the seaside near my home, spinning wool, felting, writing, translating, drawing, organic food., growing vegetables, berries and herbs, a self-sustainable life style, contributing to the local community.
Gender
Female
Orientation
Straight

New household preferences

Smokers OK?
No
Pets OK?
Yes
Occupation
Professional
Min age
30
Max age
75
Gender
Female preferred
Report this ad

We have staff moderating our ads 7 days per week, to keep quality high. Please help us in our job and let us know if there is any problem with this ad, for example:

  • The photos are not of the room advertised
  • The description is misleading
User profile icon
Unknown
Joined SpareRoom because:

Register for FREE

Register via email Remind me later