COVID-19 - how it affects renting

2 bedroom flat, converted barn, cottage, annexe.

Ad ref# 3662916

zoom
On Bellever Tor 11-2016

For the time being, amidst the restrictions of a pandemic, I've returned to my home in The Netherlands and will spend the year 2020 in my home.

Around March 2021 at the latest, I'll start a new quest for a home for myself. Someone who's looking for a house-sitter/gardener, a guardian of a home that is not lived in by the owner, or an offer of a cottage, a converted barn, long term, for 1 tenant, near the Atlantic Ocean coast, preferably the South-Western part of the Isle of Wight) please, feel free to contact me.

I'm looking for a home with space around, where sunlight enters the rooms, plus a garden or when there's no garden, fields around the home. A rural area is fine, near the coast, as long as shops and bus/ train transport are at a reasonable distance.

As a Dutch citizen, I'm used to cycling. I've got an e-bike. I'm an easy-going person, fond of solitude in the home, due to my crafting and writing work, illustrating as well.

Volunteering in a market-garden is welcome. I've done this for many years, with an interest in organic quality, clean crops and clean food. I'm a nutritionist and cook.

Due to my creative work at home, I appreciate quietude in and around the home where I live as a tenant, be it through a letting agency or privately rented.

I'm retired since 2016, receiving an income from the Dutch government. While living in Britain, I'll continue my Dutch citizenship and address. On all legal terms.

I'd rather be informed about future plans for the house offered to me so that my tenancy isn't at risk of coming to an end early and unexpectedly.

An official contract, with a fixed length of tenancy, preferably for 3 years, for a minimum of 6 months, and a deposit-scheme is part of the tenancy I choose.

Cleanliness and a good condition of the house, plus a garden (when present) are much appreciated, as much as timely repairs when needed. Maintenance of a garden for owners is welcome, in exchange for lower rent, all discussed in due time.

I'm not a fussy person and I've got a good sense of humour. I'm resourceful and creative, with a sober lifestyle and much time is spent outdoors, walking, cycling and enjoying free bus rides, since I'm over 60.

A phone call, discussing conditions, before meeting up, is a must for me, since travelling may include long distances.

I need to be informed about the size of the rooms, with adverts showing pictures of the home and garden. and the surrounding area where the house is located.

A home near the coast, with a view over the sea, an estuary or a lake, is most welcome. The Isle of Wight will be my first goal when I'll begin to explore a place to live in Britain.

All conditions and responsibilities should be made clear before an agreement is reached and signed.
I'm looking for a long term tenancy living on my own. If possible, living with a cat is my wish, for I've had cats most of my life. It's not a must though.

I am a practical person and straightforward in communication. Proof of identity, by handing over a copy of my passport, and a document showing the right to live in England as a Dutch EEA citizen is what I'll bring with me on the day when we meet up for an interview and a viewing of the house.

I've made sure that I'm legally receiving my Dutch income while living in Britain as a retired Dutch citizen. Post-Brexit Britain won't change my right for permanent settlement in Britain.

Which isn't the same as citizenship. From Jan. 2021 I'll be free to receive housing benefit after receiving a permanent settlement status in Britain.

Not that it's a must that I make use of it, it's simply a right. Of course I'll appreciate the use of that right, when possible. Any questions that may arise are welcome. Thank you.

Marian van der Veen.

  • Marian
  • 69, professional female
  • 2 rooms wanted

Total budget: £600 pcm

Availability

Available
01 Mar 2021
Minimum term
6 months
Maximum term
36 months

Looking in

  • Bexhill-On-Sea
  • Freshwater
  • Hastings
  • Lewes
  • Rye
  • Seaview
  • Shanklin
  • St Leonards-On-Sea
  • Totland Bay
  • Ventnor
  • Yarmouth

Amenities required

  • washing machine
  • garden/roof terrace
  • balcony

About me

Age
69
Smoker?
No
Any pets?
No
Language
English
Nationality
Netherlander
Occupation
Professional
Interests
food, walking, cycling, photography, nature, writing, drawing, beach, life, spinning, community, growing veg, home
Gender
Female
Orientation
Straight

New household preferences

Smokers OK?
No
Pets OK?
Yes
Occupation
Don't mind
Min age
30
Max age
75
Gender
Female preferred
Report this ad

We have staff moderating our ads 7 days per week, to keep quality high. Please help us in our job and let us know if there is any problem with this ad, for example:

  • The photos are not of the room advertised
  • The description is misleading
User profile icon
Unknown
Joined SpareRoom because:

Register for FREE

Register via email Remind me later