Skip to content

Double room on a quiet residential road in E&C

Ad ref# 13136662

I have a small double bedroom available in a nicely furnished 2 bed flat with shared living room, approx. 3-5 minutes walk from both elephant and castle and borough tube stations, with excellent bus connections to most of the city from New Kent Road.

The Flat:
The bedroom itself includes a 3/4 size bed, a small cabinet, wardrobe and a mirror. The bed has plenty of space underneath for storage boxes and there are two nails suitable for hanging a small, lightweight storage basket. The room has been freshly painted over the summer.
The flat has one bathroom with a shower/bath, toilet, sink, mirror and cupboard. There is a kitchen with a brand new electric oven, combination microwave, separate fridge and freezer, sink and washing machine (no tumble drier). There are plenty of pots, pans, crockery etc. so unless there's something specific you need, you don't have to worry about bringing much!

The living room is a large size for two people and includes a sofa, table (which can be used as a desk) and 3 chairs, bookshelf, and smart TV. It's also where I keep my electric piano (it has headphones don't worry!)! The living room overlooks Newington gardens so although there is no private garden area, there is green space directly outside the building. The bedroom overlooks Bath Terrace, a residential road with traffic restrictions, making it surprisingly quiet for the area.

I have lived in the flat for three years now and think it's great! The landlord is responsive and quick to fix maintenance issues and replace things. The neighbours are also friendly and respectful (I'm good friends with a couple on the ground floor who in return allow me access to their gorgeous dog). Bills are a fixed rate and are £60/month for everything (water, gas, electric, wifi).

PLEASE NOTE - If you are NOT a fulltime student, you will be responsible for paying council tax on the property as students are exempt from paying council tax (I am a current student). If a property is occupied solely by students then no council tax is owed by any tenants. However, if the property is occupied by a mix of students/non-students, then student tenants remain exempt but non-students are still required to pay council tax. They will receive a 25% reduction on the overall bill, however, in a 2 bedroom flat, this means that the council tax owed on a property will be 75% of a normal council tax bill, but as the cost of this won't be split between the two tenants (as one is exempt as a student), the non-student would have to cover the entirety of this amount. I believe this would be approximately £75/month, but this is not a guaranteed quote.

Location:
The flat is a short walk from two tube stations (Borough and Elephant and Castle), which connect you to the Bakerloo line (direct access to Oxford Street) and the Northern line Bank branch. There are lots of buses running from the main roundabout (3 minute walk), and you are only a 15 minute walk from London Bridge. There is a large Sainsbury's a 3 minute walk away, with many other small convenience stores within a few minutes walk. There are plenty of bars and excellent food places nearby including Borough market, which is only a 10 minute walk, and Mercato Metropolitano (2 minute walk) which offers a huge variety of cuisines in one trendy, open planned space.

Me:
I am a 23-year-old medical student in my fourth year of studying medicine at King's college London. In my spare time I enjoy playing piano, socialising and working for charities. Through covid I've been working at Guy's and St Thomas' hospitals but am now focussed on my placements for the year. I love hearing about other people's interests and hobbies so if you're really into something I'd love to hear about it!

I'm naturally a friendly and sociable person, but also enjoy my own company and space, especially after a long day on placement. I enjoy going for drinks and exploring new parts of London when Covid allows! I also enjoy cooking and baking, especially for other people! However, being a student I do sometimes reach for something quick and filling so please don't judge me for having spaghetti hoops in my cupboard!

I'm always happy to sit down for a chat over a cup of tea or glass of wine. I do enjoy watching a bit of trash TV every now and again, and getting a board game out occasionally.

You:
As the flat is small, it's important that we get along! If you're interested in the room I would really like for us to have a video call/ meet for a coffee to see if we click. Ideally I'd like to live with another student but one of my previous flatmates was working full-time so this is by no means a deal-breaker.

If you think you might be interested, please drop me a message!

  • Flat share
  • Elephant and Castle
  • SE1 Area info
  • Elephant & Castle Station Tube map
    London Underground icon Train station icon 0-5 minutes walk away
  • £683 pcm (double)

Availability

Available
Now
Minimum term
9 months
Maximum term
None

Extra cost

Deposit
£1,050.00
Bills included?
No

Amenities

Furnishings
Furnished
Parking
No
Garage
No
Garden/terrace
No
Balcony/Patio
No
Disabled access
No
Living room
shared
Broadband included
No

Current household

# flatmates
1
Total # rooms
2
Age
23
Smoker?
No
Any pets?
No
Language
English
Nationality
British
Occupation
Student
University
King's College London
Interests
music, animals, history, science, culture, bars, charity, pole fitness
Gender
Female

New flatmate preferences

Couples OK?
No
Smoking OK?
No
Pets OK?
No
Occupation
Student
References?
No
Min age
21
Max age
30
Gender
Female preferred

Report this ad

We have staff moderating our ads 7 days per week, to keep quality high. Please help us in our job and if there is any problem with this ad, for example:

  • The photos are not of the room advertised
  • The description is misleading
  • The ad is generic rather than for a specific available room
  • The advertiser is not a current flatmate
User profile icon
Unknown
Joined SpareRoom because:

Register for FREE

Register via email Remind me later

Register for FREE

Register via email