Skip to content

Room to Rent in Victorian Period Terrace

Ad ref# 13712302

This large Victorian terrace house contains many period features and was completely renovated in 2016. Currently the house is occupied by myself and my husband.

Due to the current pandemic, we're looking for housemates who are conscious of Covid safety. My husband is immunocompromised, so we need housemates who are double vaccinated, willing to take lateral flow tests when they feel ill, and happy to be careful to wear a mask when out shopping etc. We're happy to chat about our requirements, if you've got any questions do ask!

There is a double bedroom available to rent from the 1st of January located on the second floor. The room contains a double bed, wardrobe, chest of drawers, bedside table, and large desk with proper desk chair. The room is north facing with a great view over the city. There is a bathroom on the second floor exclusively for the shared use of the two lodgers. The lodgers also share the kitchen and living room on the ground floor with myself and my husband.

As a household, we’re a friendly and pretty geeky bunch. The living room contains an extensive and ever-growing collection of boardgames and Magic cards, which we regularly crack open at the weekend. Another beloved household activity is the religious watching of Anthony Bourdain’s back catalogue. We’re both involved in weekly Dungeons and Dragons games. Of course if none of that appeals, we’re equally as ready to just have a chat over one of the endless cups of tea and coffee made in the kitchen.

The house is about a forty five minute walk or a fifteen minute bike ride from the University. There are good public transport links into the City Centre, with a bus stop just outside the house and many options for cycle routes into the City Centre, including a cycle highway and a route along the canal.

The house backs onto a small park owned and maintained by the residents of the surrounding houses. We’re currently in the process of creating a wildflower border, so if you’re interested in urban gardening and habitat creation for wildlife, this is the place to be. There is a park with sports fields and a play park opposite the house, across the main road, along with allotments and a community run golfcourse. There is a Tesco’s and a Wilkinson’s five minutes walk down the road, for your food and other essentials. The centre of Armley is also nearby, with a variety of shops, cafes, a sports centre, and a library. We can particularly recommend the butchers and the Polish bakery. The wider Armley area has a fantastic craft brewing scene, with Anthology and Wilde Childe within walking distance. They, along with the Porterhouse Bakery, regularly hold pop up events, which we can very much recommend.

Bills, including gas, electricity, council tax, broadband, and water, are shared equally between all residents of the house and generally come to about £90pppm. We are hoping that this will go down though as we have recently installed solar panels and a battery. The electricity and gas will be provided by Octopus, on a 100% renewable electricity plan.

  • House share
  • Armley
  • LS12
  • £340 pcm (double)

Availability

Available
Now
Minimum term
6 months
Maximum term
None

Extra cost

Deposit
£340.00
Bills included?
No

Amenities

Furnishings
Furnished
Parking
Yes
Garden/terrace
Yes
Disabled access
Living room
shared
Broadband included
No

Current household

# housemates
2
Total # rooms
4
Ages
31 to 31
Smoker?
No
Any pets?
No
Language
English
Occupation
Professional
Interests
travelling, reading, gardening, board games, magic, dungeons & dragons
Gender
1 Female, 1 Male

New housemate preferences

Couples OK?
No
Smoking OK?
No
Pets OK?
No
Occupation
Don't mind
Min age
25
Max age
43
Gender
Males or females

Report this ad

We have staff moderating our ads 7 days per week, to keep quality high. Please help us in our job and if there is any problem with this ad, for example:

  • The photos are not of the room advertised
  • The description is misleading
  • The ad is generic rather than for a specific available room
  • The advertiser is not a live in landlord
User profile icon
Unknown
Joined SpareRoom because:

Register for FREE

Register via email Remind me later

Register for FREE

Register via email