COVID-19 - how it affects renting

Room available in Bristol, BS3

Ad ref# 15502054

Room available in Bristol, BS3

Location:

Ashton, very close to North Street Bedminster/Southville, a short walk to the local Co-op, Tesco, and various other independent stores, etc. The nearest reasonably sized park is Greville Smyth, and Ashton Court and the Harbourside are both less than half an hour’s walk away. The flat is on the second floor (top storey) of a small block. Access is by stairs only (no lift, sorry).

The flat:

Comprises an entrance hall, two bedrooms, one bathroom, and one open-plan kitchen/living area. It feels spacious and gets a lot of sun, in the living room especially, as there are windows on two sides (SE and SW facing), and a juliet balcony (with a view of the suspension bridge if you poke your head out!).

The kitchen has a microwave and washing machine/tumble drier, and a new fridge-freezer. I also have some exercise equipment (weights, static bike, etc.) that you can use if you want.

There is no car parking allocated to the property but there is usually space on the street nearby. Bike storage is poor at the moment, I’m afraid: you can’t bring one inside, and there is a small shed but it is currently full, so locking to the fence might be the only option.

The room:

I would call it a small double in terms of floor space, but it also has quite a large built-in wardrobe, and you can store more stuff under the bed.

As for furnishings, the double bed and mattress, small bookcase, desk, and wire basket drawers in the cupboard are all staying. There is a storage box that can stay if you want it, or I can remove it if you don’t.

About sharing:

The room is available to one person (no couples).

You would be sharing with just me (the owner). I’m 37, currently working freelance intermittently, mainly as a copy-editor and EFL teacher. Even since before the pandemic I have worked from home more often than not, usually in my bedroom. I'm quite left-wing, LGBTQ-friendly, anti-racist, green, and into films, art, music and literature, and it would be great to share with someone with a similar outlook and interests. It would be nice to have the occasional drink together or cook for each other from time to time.

I'm not really interested in sport myself, but it's worth mentioning the flat is near Ashton gate, in case you like football!

I would prefer to share with a vegan or a vegetarian. I'm vegan in diet, and I'm getting there with the other items in the flat but I can't guarantee a 100% vegan home. I don't mind sharing with a meat-eater but I would ask you not to bring any meat into the flat.

I can keep odd hours - because I'm freelance I sometimes go to bed late and get up late, but conversely, when I teach I sometimes go to bed early and get up early! So we would need to respect each other’s hours and not be too noisy when the other is trying to sleep or work. My previous flatmates weren’t disturbed by me watching films or playing computer games in the living room late at night but I can keep it to my bedroom/use headphones if it's a problem for you.

It's a non-smoking flat, but I don't mind sharing with smokers as long as you do it outside.

We would clean up after ourselves and there is also a weekly cleaning rota so we would split the cleaning between us to clean the whole flat once a week.

When I spread my exercise equipment out it takes up a lot of space in the living area, so in normal times I’d only use it when my lodger was out; if we’re both stuck inside due to lockdown we could discuss a mutually agreeable schedule.

I take COVID-19 seriously, so I would expect my lodger to at least follow the relevant official guidelines and restrictions on socialising. For future reference, in case the regulations relax at some point, I will mention my own “normal” preferences: I'm fairly introverted and it's not really a party flat, but the occasional party would be ok, or if you wanted friends round for dinner or to watch a film, that would be fine too. There isn't much privacy for entertaining guests as the living room and kitchen are open-plan, but I can stay out the way occasionally if it's very important! It would fine to have one or two guests to stay over, for up to three nights a week, but they'd need to stay in your room not in the living room.

Rent and bills:

Your rent would be £530pcm including bills (gas, electricity, water, wifi, council tax, management company maintenance fee), and I pay for the flat cleaning products out of that as well. Deposit is £265 (half a month's rent) with the rent to be paid a month upfront at a time. I'd prefer to sign an agreement for 3 months initially (with standard break clauses), but will consider between 2 and 6 months.

Viewings will be virtual, by video chat (e. g. Skype or WhatsApp) from 29th October onwards, I’m flexible about what time of day or evening. Moving in will be an option beginning from mid-November (the 5th at the very earliest).

Questions:

If you have any questions, feel free to ask!
I look forward to hearing from you!

Ben

  • Flat share
  • Bristol
  • BS3
  • £530 pcm (double)

Availability

Available
Now
Minimum term
2 months
Maximum term
6 months
  • Short lets considered

Extra cost

Deposit
£265.00
Bills included?
Yes

Amenities

Furnishings
Furnished
Parking
No
Garage
No
Garden/terrace
No
Balcony/Patio
No
Disabled access
No
Living room
shared
Broadband included
Yes

Current household

# flatmates
1
Total # rooms
2
Age
37
Smoker?
No
Any pets?
No
Language
English
Nationality
British
Occupation
Professional
Interests
art, cinema, theatre, politics
Gender
Male

New flatmate preferences

Couples OK?
No
Smoking OK?
No
Pets OK?
No
Occupation
Don't mind
References?
No
Gender
Males or females
Vegetarian
Yes
Report this ad

We have staff moderating our ads 7 days per week, to keep quality high. Please help us in our job and let us know if there is any problem with this ad, for example:

  • The photos are not of the room advertised
  • The description is misleading
  • The ad is generic rather than for a specific available room
  • The advertiser is not a live in landlord
User profile icon
Unknown
Joined SpareRoom because:

Register for FREE

Register via email Remind me later

Register for FREE

Register via email