Cheerful Morningside room £450 pcm

Ad ref# 6868765

We're looking for a chilled out young professional to join our lovely first floor flat on Morningside Road. No couples sorry. As you can see from the photos you'll also be sharing with Gremlin and all of his fur, so a cat lover is a must!

The Flat: The room is fully furnished and is at the back of the flat so it's nice and quiet, and gets lovely afternoon sun. There is a double bed, desk, double wardrobe, chest of drawers. and bookshelf. The rest of the flat is also fully furnished, as shown in the photographs. The living room is large with lots of cosy seating, and a fold out couch for guests. The kitchen/dining area is also large, with a fancy dining table and a very out of tune piano. There's a gas stove and oven, new washer/dryer, a brand new full size fridge, and seperate freezer. We like to keep the common areas tidy and clutter free. The bathroom doesn't have a window, but it does have a bathtub, and the hot water is endless
Quirks: the floors are quite creaky, and the high ceilings make the house quite echoey. There's some trouble with the window in the available room not quite sealing at the top, so it's quite chilly at the moment, but we have an extra heater for the room, and the landlord is on the case. Also, did I mention cat hair?

We're located right on Morningside Road, with several buses on our doorstep (16, 36, 23, 11, X15, 5), and supermarkets, cafes, restaurants, and bars in abundance. Nice and close to the city centre as well as a short walk to the Meadows and the canal. Residents parking available.

It's a private lease, and the landlord is lovely and very efficient at dealing with any problems, but mostly happy to leave us to ourselves, and is looking to rent the property out long term. We are on a month to month lease.

About us: You'll mostly see me around, Claire, an Australian immigrant who works part time as an audio editor. I work from home so I'm around a lot but you'll be rid of me for at least a month every year when I go home. I'm easy going and respectful of people's personal spaces, but always up for a cup of tea and a chat. I like having friends over for dinner, board games, or Shakespeare readings (yup, I'm a huge nerd), all of which you're welcome to join in!
There's our resident mechanical engineer Katie, a native Scot with a regular 9-5 at the Royal Observatory; I occasionally travels for work: a week every few months. I try to be as outdoorsy as the Scottish climate permits; cycling, camping and I’m always keen for new rock climbing partners.
Gremlin is pretty obnoxious, he likes attention but only when it's not offered, and wants to see behind every door. Standard cat stuff, but as a bonus we don't have any mice.

About you: We're looking for someone conscientious and communicative. The most important thing is someone who wants to make this their home! I've lived here for 3 years and have spent a lot of time making it a nice cosy space, and I like being able to share that space with the people I live with. We don't live in each other pockets but like to be able to chat and get along. Vegetarian/vegan preferred (we're both vegetarian) but not mandatory, as long as you scrub pans well after cooking! You must love cats, Gremlin's a big part of this house, and likes to watch the squirrels from the window of the available room. I always keep lint rollers around, and try and keep his howling at ghosts to a minimum. Bonus points if you're a green thumb because I have a lot of plants and I will probably rope you into watering them when I'm away. We're an LGBTQ+ friendly household.

Rent: £450
Bond/Deposit: £450
Council Tax: approx. £50 per month
Bills: approx. £30 per month for gas and electricity, £10 for wifi (Virgin fibre optic)
Available: 16th of November

Viewings available from the 26th of October on Tuesday, Thursday and Friday evenings.

NO students, NO couple, NO other pets (Gremlin don't share)
We're a non-smoking, non-vaping household

  • Flat share
  • Morningside
  • EH10
  • £450 pcm (double)

Availability

Available
16 Nov 2019
Minimum term
12 months
Maximum term
None

Extra cost

Deposit
£450.00
Bills included?
No

Amenities

Furnishings
Furnished
Parking
No
Garage
No
Garden/terrace
No
Balcony/Patio
No
Disabled access
No
Living room
shared
Broadband included
No

Current household

# flatmates
2
Total # rooms
3
Ages
29 to 32
Smoker?
No
Any pets?
Yes
Language
English
Occupation
Professional
Gender
2 Females

New flatmate preferences

Couples OK?
No
Smoking OK?
No
Pets OK?
No
Occupation
Professional
Housing Benefit
Yes
References?
Yes
Min age
25
Gender
Males or females
Report this ad

We have staff moderating our ads 7 days per week, to keep quality high. Please help us in our job and let us know if there is any problem with this ad, for example:

  • The photos are not of the room advertised
  • The description is misleading
  • The ad is generic rather than for a specific available room
  • The advertiser is not a current flatmate
User profile icon
Unknown
Joined SpareRoom because:

Register for FREE

Register via email Remind me later