COVID-19 - how it affects renting

Detached House next to Highstreet and Station

Ad ref# 15295876


Details about the room I'm renting out in the house I own..

It's just off Rayleigh highstreet, so very close to the shops. It's walking distance to the station (I commuted to London before covid).

The local road parking is opperated on a parking scheme, however this room comes with one of the two spaces on the private driveway. The other lodger has to pay for a permit.

The room is newly built, so everything is brand new. It is fully furnished with a new tall grey wardrobe that has a mirror on (see pic), and it has a double ottoman bed for extra storage (see pic).

The room has it's own shower in the corner, and with wash basin (see pic). The room it part carpet and part amtico around the shower area.

**House Itself**
Theres a £25k+ kitchen fitted (see pic), which has a large fridge, large freezer, two ovens, two microwaves, washing machine, dishwasher, integrated ironing board, instant boiling tap, waste disposal unit, and other little mod cons. Everyone has their own cupboard, fridge shelf, and freezer draw, so theres no confusion over who's food belongs to who. This room comes with extra cupboard space.

There's a lounge with three 2-3 people sofa's. The lounge has the full Sky package with movies, Sky Sports and BT Sport. Sometimes we'll watch a film or footy/sport in the lounge all together, however people also need their own space so stick to their room to watch what they fancy. WIFI is included, so if you have a TV and a Netflix/Amazon account you'll be able to watch that in your room.

Theres also a newly done up downstairs toilet.

There are fairly large patio doors that lead out on to a the decking/garden. The garden was totally re-landscaped a few years ago by myself and my brother who is a builder, and it gets quite a lot of sun in the summer. There are various seats (see pic), and I have a BBQ I sometimes use at weekends if it's nice and sunny.

As advised, the house has broadband fibre optic which you'll obviously be able to access via WIFI.

I'm afraid no pets are allowed because I'm allergic to them.

Guests are welcome, so long as they are respectful of the house and others property etc. as would be expected with anywhere I'd like to think!

Please note that the room is for single occupancy only, so no couples.

I'm 37 straight male. I work in the city during the week, and also go to the gym during the week in the evenings after work. At weekends I try to keep myself busy so I'm often out and about. I tend to get on with everyone and like typical bloke banter.

**Type of person I'm looking for**
I have friends that range from 20-45+, and they are all on my level, so ideally someone within that age group that is very down to earth and gets on with people. I've had people of all ages live with me over the years, and always got on well with them all.

I'm looking for someone who will be tidy'ish throughout the house as we have to share it, specifically the kitchen as it's fairly new and I spent a lot of money on it.

As the bedroom is brand new and cost me £1,000's, I'd like someone who is clean and tidy to keep it looking fresh.

You must be in full time work and have a reliable source of income so you can pay your rent on time which is the 1st of every month. There will be a £500 deposit you'll need to pay prior to moving in, which you'll obviously get back when you move out. Once received I'll take this advert down.

The contract is a rolling 3 month one, so you just need to give me 3 months notice when you're looking to move out. Ideally you'd be in for 6 months at least if possible.

If this sounds like it suits you, please send me a message.

If you have any questions, please feel free to ask.

Happy room hunting!

  • House share
  • Rayleigh
  • SS6
  • £650 pcm (double)


Minimum term
Maximum term

Extra cost

Bills included?


Disabled access
Living room
Broadband included

Current household

# housemates
Total # rooms
28 to 37
Any pets?
sports, gym, socialising, films, fitness, pubs, festivals, holidays, bbqs, box sets
3 Males

New housemate preferences

Couples OK?
Smoking OK?
Pets OK?
Min age
Max age
Male preferred
* Landlord’s mortgage/insurance prohibits renting to Housing Benefit recipients.
Report this ad

We have staff moderating our ads 7 days per week, to keep quality high. Please help us in our job and let us know if there is any problem with this ad, for example:

  • The photos are not of the room advertised
  • The description is misleading
  • The ad is generic rather than for a specific available room
  • The advertiser is not a live in landlord
User profile icon
Joined SpareRoom because:

Register for FREE

Register via email Remind me later

Register for FREE

Register via email