Welwyn Garden City results

A Haven for Contractors or similar requirements

Ad ref# 756875

Hello, For those who have shown interest, I am sorry but I now have a flat sharer until 1 September 2019.
My advert will be deactivated on Monday 20 May but please make contact over the weekend if you are considering 1st Sept. Thank you!

The flat share is available Immediately, but I am discerning and would rather wait for the right person if the enquirers contract is not due to commence for a couple of weeks.

Whilst my advert is long, please take the time to read it before contacting me, to ensure we are on the same page of mutual requirements, Full terms are below.

Since 2003, I have successfully shared my home with Contractor's or those with similar requirements who have their own home elsewhere.

I am looking for a non-smoker and offer home from home clean, tidy and warm accommodation with every facility. The age range of previous contractor’s has been 30 - 68 years to date, and come from all over the UK, Ireland and overseas. I have not increased the rent in the last four years.

Please look through the pictures of the flat. It is always this clean and tidy. At present there is also an Ikea 1000 x 600 desk and chair which fits neatly to the right of the bedroom door. This can be removed if you wish. Additionally, there is also a freeview TV with a DVD slot, but most watch TV in the lounge if they have time after their long day or watch programmes or Netflix etc. on their laptop or other devices. .

So… are you weary of living in costly impersonal hotels or B&B's, eating in restaurants alone or eating at work and grabbing a quick supper you can eat in your room, then... having to take everything with you when you go home?
Wouldn't you rather securely leave whatever you choose in your comfortable furnished room throughout the duration of your work contract? Additionally, you would have use of a clean and tidy bathroom with constant hot water with clean dry towels and a separate toilet.

The kitchen has every facility with designated cupboard, fridge and freezer space, a dining room and a comfy lounge to relax and unwind. It is lovely to sit out on the patio or loungers on warm evenings in the secluded garden.

There would only be me here when we are home at the same time. There is a family upstairs who you can sometimes hear, but that is inevitable in a flat as it is in a hotel.

Some contractors have not been into food shopping and cooking after a busy day and preferred to eat a main meal at work and have just a light supper. There is a well-appointed shopping precinct just 250 meters away from the flat that you can pop into on your way home or walk to. There is a Tesco Express open until 11pm, Lidl until 9pm, as well as an excellent fish and chip shop where you can also eat-in, plus a good take away Chinese. Morrison’s supermarket is also just half a mile away, and there is a varied selection of restaurants in town and nearby precincts of shops to suit everyone's taste.

The Doctor’s surgery where most sharers register as a temporary patient and a reputable dentist are both conveniently located next to this local precinct of shops.

I have a sunny and welcoming personality and always respectful to your daily routines, so there is no queuing for the bathroom, which is two steps across the hall making it practically en suite. I am also mindful to your privacy and rest etc. so please do not be put off if you have tried shared living in the past with other professionals, only to give notice to leave disappointed, as it seemed more like student accommodation, and certainly not, home from home! This will never be the scenario here.

Please give me a call to discuss your requirements, whether you have just secured a contract with a start date due, or part way through your contract at maybe the Head Offices of Tesco, Roche or other corporates on Shire Park which is close by, as is the NHS Community Trust in Tewin Road, all within walking distance if you desire the exercise. Other contractors have worked on Hatfield Business Park as well as other organisations within 10 miles radius..

I am flexible, whether you require short or long-term accommodation. Most require 06-12 months, but have found that contracts often extend. Equally, deadlines are brought forward. Full Terms are detailed below.

I will also make your bed every day, clean your room, provide and wash towels and bedding and provide seasonal tog duvets and room fans when required. I also tidy and clean all other shared areas and the carpeted foyer. There is constant hot water. All I request is that you leave the kitchen and bathroom clean and tidy as you will always find them.

I also offer a service by arrangement for your personal washing and ironing if you prefer not to always take it home which female partners have appreciated in the past.

Whilst most use their own iphones or devices, my landline also offers free calls 24/7 for 59 mins to UK mobiles and landlines in 'most' countries around the world, but please check the destination with me first in case that country is excluded in my package. If you exceed 59 minutes by mistake, you will be responsible for the cost. .

VISITORS: Whilst the double room is for single occupancy, I am willing for your partner (if you have one) to visit a few times a year by agreement at no extra charge. I will advise you of my weekends away and holiday plans if you would prefer the flat to yourselves. This offers a good opportunity to visit London, explore the surrounding towns, villages and other counties or visit family or friends who may live relatively nearby.

If you are required to work over the weekend 'periodically' you are welcome to stay over.

FITNESS: If you like to cycle, you are welcome to house your bike in my secure garage without charge. You will be provided with keys.

Some Corporate Companies have Gym's on-site, but there is a 24hr Gym in town in the upper floor of the Howard Centre Shopping Mall, and also where the entrance to the Train Station is conveniently located. There are also other gym's surrounding the town.

PARKING: Parking in this cul-de-sac is random, but residents are generally mindful to where we each like to park.

LOCATION SECURITY: It is a neighbourhood watch area and proven to have had no incidents of theft or wilful damage to car or property in New Wood over the 16 years I have lived here.

GARAGE: If you would prefer your own garage, as the leaseholder I can apply for another garage en bloc if/when one becomes available. The rent is approximately £50 pcm which I would pay and you would repay me directly. One calendar month’s notice is usually required.

TRANSPORT: If you travel from your home to work by train or plane and do not leave a car here for work use, a local taxi driver is willing to offer a personal daily service to Contractors who live here, no matter how early you leave to go to work or how late you wish to leave work. If your contract is in WGCity, taxi's are £3.50 per trip around town. Most Corporates operate a regular free hopper bus to and from Welwyn Garden City station. The Personal taxi driver will also pick you up and take you to Luton or Stansted airport both 35 minutes away. LHR airport is 45 mins to 1hr drive depending on traffic. All journeys are negotiated with your driver at a preferential rate.

This personal service came about as some Contractors have lived in Scotland and Ireland, and a few have lived overseas. They preferred the continuity and reliability of the personal service they could arrange directly with their driver daily.

ID REQUIREMENT:
Proof of where you work and when your work contract is due to end.
Proof that you pay council tax elsewhere, if you live in the UK
Passport Details and your home address if you live overseas.

TERMS
Deposit: £325.00 returnable upon leaving, subject to no wilful damage. Paid and repaid by bank transfer.
Bank Reference:: Flat Deposit.

RENT: £650 pcm in advance inc wifi, all bills, tea, coffee, milk, toilet rolls and cleaning materials. Payable by Bank Transfer and preferably by Standing Order on the date you plan to move in and then on the same date each month thereafter.

PAYMENT: I will give you my banking details directly.
Bank Reference: Rent + Bills (Required by my accountant)

TERMS: Work related travel, personal holidays and bank holidays:-
There is no reduction in the rent pcm as the room will be retained. This has proven acceptable and understandable to all previous sharers.

NOTICE PERIOD: One calendar months’ notice either way.
Please note: In the unlikely event that a major issue or issues arise or undue disrespect which cannot be resolved, you will be asked to leave by immediate effect or on a fair and reasonable agreed date. If you choose to leave for any reason immediately, you will still be required to give one calendar months notice with regard to rental payment.

KEYS A Security door and front door key will be issued and returnable when you leave. If you lose them, please inform me immediately.

SECURITY: Being a ground floor garden flat, you need to be responsible to close and lock any windows or the patio door you have opened before you go out, especially if I am not here or on holiday. It is imperative that security is adhered to, to not infringe my contents and/or building insurance policies.

If my advert appeals to you, please message me with your requirements. If I can accommodate them, we can chat on the phone. If we feel we share a health rapport, I will invite you to view the room and flat. I will text you my address. Please ensure you bring the required ID with you as stated above. If you wish to view the accommodation in daylight hours, I will accommodate weekday or weekend viewings during the day.

Thank you for taking the time to read my long advert which I hope will answer most of your questions.

I look forward to hearing from you. If not, I wish you every success in finding suitable accommodation to meet your requirements.

Best wishes, Angie

  • £650 pcm (double)

Availability

Available
01 Sep 2019
Minimum term
None
Maximum term
None
  • Short lets considered

Extra cost

Deposit
£325.00
Bills included?
Yes

Amenities

Furnishings
Furnished
Parking
Yes
Garage
Yes
Garden/terrace
Yes
Balcony/Patio
Yes
Disabled access
No
Living room
shared
Broadband included
Yes

Current household

# flatmates
1
Total # rooms
2
Smoker?
No
Any pets?
No
Language
English
Nationality
British
Occupation
Professional
Interests
Spectrum of Music, Dancing, Singing, Gardening, Walking, Reading, Nature, Cooking, DIY, Cinema, Theatre
Gender
Female
Orientation
Straight

New flatmate preferences

Couples OK?
No
Smoking OK?
No
Pets OK?
No
Occupation
Professional
Housing Benefit
No
References?
No
Min age
30
Max age
72
Gender
Males or females
Report this ad

We have staff moderating our ads 7 days per week, to keep quality high. Please help us in our job and let us know if there is any problem with this ad, for example:

  • The photos are not of the room advertised
  • The description is misleading
  • The ad is generic rather than for a specific available room
  • The advertiser is not a live in landlord
User profile icon
Unknown
Joined SpareRoom because:
Signup for FREE
Remind me later