Catford results

Spacious garden home in lovely Victorian building

Ad ref# 3042043

*** The space is available from 22 October 2020 onward. All standard bills are included in the weekly rent amount. It is only suitable for a ONE-PERSON-STAY ***

Hi! My name's Natasha. I hope you are well. This is probably the most quirky ad on SpareRoom you'll find, but it's worth reading the details in case it's a great solution for your circumstances.

I'm looking for a guardian to lodge on a short-term basis in my lovely Victorian conversion garden flat, which has free parking across the road plus a private entrance and courtyard, in Catford, South East London.

This hidden gem is spacious yet cosy and only 20 minutes' from Central London by train.

All bills are included in the weekly price, which is paid monthly.

It is a one bedroom flat *where the bedroom is locked and not accessible to the lodger*. The bedroom is located quite separately from the rest of the flat leaving a very nice studio-type space to be used. Technically I am a live-in landlord and stay in the bedroom but, given I work in in the USA, I won’t be there. The space has hosted more than 20 guardians since 2013 and only on one occasion have I met a lodger (in early 2014), which is quite sad in a way!

*About: duration of stay*

I'm ideally looking for someone to stay for a period between one and five months at a time as my lodger/home-guardian. This is ideal for a tourist, recent graduate, course-attender or professional; someone who needs to move or travel to London and requires a base whilst they enjoy their time here or simply look for longer-term accommodation. Some people have stayed while their own homes are being renovated or they are waiting to complete on a property purchase. I've had a score of separate home-guardians and it has been a mutually rewarding experience.

*About: the space*

The space is on the ground floor of a property within a conservation area, with a 12-foot ceiling and enormous sash windows. The largest windows have secondary glazing for extra security and to keep the heat in.

It has direct access to an enormous (150 feet long and 30 feet wide, at a guess) garden, which a gardener professionally maintains. There's a courtyard area with slate chippings where you can enjoy sitting and relaxing with a cup of coffee in the morning or afternoon - or with a cocktail in the evening. The garden's south-west-facing so the sun sets near it, which is lovely.

The bathroom is pretty, simple and classic; you can enjoy the full bath or use it as a shower. It has black floor tiles, a shower screen, a large heated towel rail and storage.

The kitchen is a great size - approximately 90 square feet. It's very clean and fully functional...and is waiting for someone to make better use of it than I have! It has white cabinets (some will be locked to prevent damage to expensive crockery), black work-tops, cream floor tiles and windows; one of which is above the sink and looks out to the garden. It has a washing machine/tumble dryer, dishwasher, fridge/freezer, gas oven and four-pod cooker. Although expensive/sentimental crockery/items will be locked away, many cleaning products, utensils, everyday ingredients and kitchenwares are available for use.

What's now the living room will be your sleeping room (the kitchen leads off from it, but they are separate rooms with a big wooden door that completely locks shut). It was completely redecorated in browns and white, with silver and brown furniture, last summer. It's approximately 140 square feet with wooden floors and a view through two huge windows that looks out to the garden. It has a 47" HD TV, a big - ridiculously opulent - electronically reclining sofa etc. There is an air mattress you are welcome to use, you can put a sheet on the couch to sleep on that or you can bring an alternative easy solution .

I'm reasonably OCD (is that an oxymoron?) about cleanliness so keep the home in top shape by having a cleaner every fortnight *when I'm living in it.* I would expect you to keep it clean and tidy.

*About: me*

I was born and raised in Catford and was very happy living here...until I was given the opportunity to move to the USA! The vast majority of my time now has to be spent there, because I am a Green Card holder, however I'm sure I'll end up in London again at some point in my life - hence why I still own my flat and like to have someone 'guarding' it.

I like to think I can provide a lodger/guardian with a reasonably priced base in one of the most popular cities in the world where it's difficult to find short-term accommodation, in exchange for them respecting it and appreciating it for what it is.

*About: the neighbourhood*

Catford is a leafy and peaceful neighbourhood. Its town centre is around a five-minute walk away, with banks, supermarkets, great countryside-esque local pubs (the CCC, the Catford Bridge Tavern, Ninth Life), a post office, a theatre, bakeries, off-licences, restaurants/takeaways (Chinese, Japanese, Turkish, Indian, Italian), fast food, pharmacies, opticians, pound shops, grocers, dry cleaners, opticians, coffee shops, bars and more. There's also a Boots, Argos, Superdrug, Tesco, Dunelm, B&M and Kaspa's in walking distance.

*About: transport*

The property's a 10 to 15-minute walk from two train stations (Catford and Catford Bridge - both are in zone three), where you can travel to London Bridge, Waterloo East and Elephant & Castle in around 15 minutes; Cannon Street, Charing Cross and Blackfriars in around 21 minutes; City Thames Link in around 25 minutes; and Farringdon within half an hour - just to name a few destination options.

More than 10 bus routes are available at bus stops that are between 30 seconds' and four minutes' walk away.

*About: misc things to know*

There is a private entrance and it does not have a doorbell so you will not be disturbed.

The property has building-wide smoke and carbon monoxide alarms.

Given stays will be short-term, the address cannot be used for post to be sent to.

Stays will be managed through an online ('Air b n b') accommodation agency to facilitate payments and protect/verify both parties' details/legitimacy and the deposit. It charges a £69 cleaning fee and then a small service fee (I believe it is around £100 per month). Your deposit stays on your credit card without it being deducted unless anything goes wrong, which is handy instead of having to find extra cash for it.

Free street parking is available across the road.

£254 pw (whole property)

This advert is for a Studio flat

Availability

Available
22 Oct 2020
Minimum term
1 month
Maximum term
4 months
  • Short lets considered

Extra cost

Security deposit
£799.00

Amenities

Furnishings
Furnished
Parking
Yes
Garden/terrace
Yes
Balcony/Patio
Yes
Disabled access

New tenant preferences

Smoking OK?
No
Pets OK?
No
Occupation
Don't mind
References?
Yes
Min age
18
Max age
65
Gender
Males or females
* The landlord’s mortgage/insurance prohibit letting to housing benefit tenants
Report this ad

We have staff moderating our ads 7 days per week, to keep quality high. Please help us in our job and let us know if there is any problem with this ad, for example:

  • The photos are not of the room advertised
  • The description is misleading
  • The ad is generic rather than for a specific available room
  • The advertiser is not a live out landlord
User profile icon
Unknown
Joined SpareRoom because:

Register for FREE

Register via email Remind me later

Register for FREE

Register via email