Skip to content

Vennington results

Rooms & appt - beautiful period property

Ad ref# 1958256

Very large double which is the Largest and best room in the house. Fully exposed beams up to the roof’s eaves. Oak floorboards. Small open fire and two chunky cast iron radiators, lined silk curtains and rugs. Plenty of storage. Large hand crafted mahogany carved king bed from Bali. 50” TV with Apple TV, Disney, Prime Video, Netflix, NOW TV (movies and tv), Paramount, BT Sports (now Discovery). Sky sports in lounge too. Large glass desk and nice office chair. See last 3 photos in listing. Room contains a new small saniflow loo and wash basin but currently not in use - it requires plumbing in. All other shared facilities and unrestricted use of whole house and garden. Available immediately. Visits or video viewing on request. Questions welcome. Please read full notes below. Thank you.

We comply with and follow the advice of Shropshire Council per regulations as a house of multiple ccupation (HMO), Current electrical certificate etc. Please note that if you have children I cannot accommodate them except for very infrequent visits because I’m not permitted to. But also for the sake of the occupants. And for many of the same reasons I’d rather not have full time home workers, although I don't mind occasional working from home (say one or two days a week).

Viewings welcome. Happy to do an initial viewing over video (WhatsApp, FaceTime, Skype etc.) if you want. Although I just ask a month’s notice I’m not generally interested in very short term tenants.

It's a lovely, helpful, friendly house. Looking for people that can be friendly and respectful with other inhabitants. Males and females alike. I've put an minimum age limit of 40 because that just works out better and we are all in our 40s or 50s. It's a good happy house and we want to keep it that way:) There is plenty of personal space too. I want people to enjoy their time here, live, enjoy using the place freely, and feel welcome. Smoking permitted in your room and outside but normally not in communal areas. Straightforward Spareroom contract if you want it. No min or max stay, just one month's notice required.

House is a somewhat creaky and quirky 400 year old timber framed listed property built in 1640. You'll either love it or hate it. Clean and tidy but not prim and proper! (NOT minimalistic:) I do ask that people clean up after themselves in communal areas. What you do in your room is up to you, as I never go in without prior permission (lockable too if you want). However I do have a fantastic cleaner that does five hours a week in the communal areas, keeping them extremely clean. I pay for this. Oil fired central heating throughout. Woodburner in main lounge. Stocks of coal and logs to keep it going. All other facilities shared and all utility bills paid by landlord. Reasonable use expected.

I sleep and work in outbuildings by the pool, so I’m not breathing down your neck all the time as an ‘evil landlord’. We are located in the pretty hamlet of Vennington nr Westbury, Shrewsbury SY5 about 9 miles from the centre (15mins). Peace and birdsong that you wouldn't believe, and about 6 cars passing a day! I have lived here 26 years now, and loved every minute of it. It’s home. We have an outdoor 30ft outdoor swimming pool which is repainted and filled every spring onwards (now 'shut' it for winter, but obviously will reopen soon). Bathroom with heated floor and large jaccuzzi bath & (fantastic) shower. Shower delivers a deluge of 4 gallons of water per minute! We have about 3/4 acre of garden (I actually don’t know!). Plenty of space and peace and quiet. Theres a nice pond with about 20 friendly and inquisitive fish in it. Lovely peaceful place to sit. Behind that is a 20ft x 20ft partially covered decking area with speakers, brand new weights and really fab water-resistance rowing machine with Bluetooth hookup. Weight bar is 20kg, going up to 150kg if you’re superhuman! (I am not!). Free for all to use.

STARLINK INTERNET - Large TV in lounge,. Every room has a Firestick device loaded with streaming via subs to Apple TV+, Netflix, Prime Video, Now Tv entertainment and movies. BT Sports. Paramount+. Sky sports.. football and formula 1 on main TV., Wifi is currently Starlink and a backup BT fibre connection. Starlink is Elon Musk's new low earth orbit satellite service and have been getting between 60 and 300 megabits, which is blisteringly fast (for out here). Wifi everywhere in the property (including garden and pool area). Never seems to fall over, even when being used by several of us at once to stream HD, even 4K content individually in our rooms etc. Communal Wi-fi colour inkjet printer (for what it’s worth). Fully loaded Amazon subscription-paid Firesticks all rooms, and aerial leads and clear wifi in every room. Gaming welcome, headphones only sorry.

All electricity and heating oil/ central heating is included in the rent but you must be sensible and reasonable about it. I don't allow electric fires, as we have multiple other sources of heating, and because of their high cost of over £1 .30 an hour now for a 3kw fire. Electricity and oil has gone up 50% this year and I try to be sensible and then rents can remain reasonable. So sorry but basically an electric fire completely negates the month's rent I receive within ten days, and after that I'm losing money. AGA cooker in large kitchen is on permanently, which also nicely heats the place a bit too. Log fire usually going all day and night with back boiler feeding radiators too. Oil central heating. Plenty of off road parking, and our large parking area has recentry been re gravelled. Space even to work on your car/ jet wash if desired. I've got a good jet wash that anyone is welcome to use. All of us very friendly and relaxed folk and get on well, leaving the house for work at a variety of times.

Guests and girlfriends/boyfriends are very welcome to visit and stay over, although all rooms are rented as single occupancy (i. e. no permanent couples).

WE ALWAYS HAVE AT LEAST TWO ROOMS READY FOR GUESTS AND NOT LET OUT. These are available at your short-term disposal on request, free of charge, for short stays.

If you fancy a move within the house, as an existing tenant you can also have first refusal when other rooms become available.

Pets: Cats and small animals welcome in Mini appt and Outbuilding but not main house, I can't allow dogs though sorry. I'm a cat lover and have one very shy cat and her domain is the main house. It's 'cat paradise' out here in the country! We've had everything from an Iguana to rabbits and chickens staying here with us, so don't be shy! Just ask me (but I’m never having chickens again!) It goes without saying that all animals should be properly cared for and treated well by their owners. I have plenty of land and lovely walks from the doorstep too.

Landlord (Andrew), 57, is heterosexual white British. I work for myself, mostly from home. I've been spending time in Switzerland, where I was an official resident until Covid, and have a company that is trying to launch a Cryptocurrency exchange platform (Bitcoin). I've also written a book on the subject called Bitcoin and Blockchain without the Bullshit. I'm a super easy going person, though you can be the judge of that! I'm single and enjoy it that way.

Any questions at all, just let me know. Feel free to text or call my mobile. Viewing recommended and welcome :-)

Further pictures and info available on request. It's helpful if you can give me some basic details about yourself; where you work, age, any info about what sort of person you are, where you're coming from etc...just basics. Thank you.

  • House share
  • Vennington
  • SY5
  • £595 pcm (double/En suite)
  • £575 pcm (NOW LET)
  • £550 pcm (NOW LET)


Minimum term
1 month
Maximum term
  • Short lets considered

Extra cost

Bills included?


Disabled access
Living room
Broadband included

Current household

# housemates
Total # rooms
32 to 56
Any pets?
1 Female, 2 Males

New housemate preferences

Couples OK?
Smoking OK?
Pets OK?
Min age
Max age
No preference

Report this ad

We have staff moderating our ads 7 days per week, to keep quality high. Please help us in our job and if there is any problem with this ad, for example:

  • The photos are not of the room advertised
  • The description is misleading
  • The ad is generic rather than for a specific available room
  • The advertiser is not a live in landlord

Register for FREE

Register via email

Register for FREE

Register via email