Skip to content

Brighton results

King Size Room - Characterful Warehouse Conversion

Ad ref# 11630071

Large room in our characterful house - a modern warehouse conversion recently renovated to a high-specification. A small gated-development set back from the street just South of Preston Park, we are a quiet, secluded & secure spot in a great location. Lockdown was largely spent improving & decorating, so the place is currently in particularly smart form.

Situated in a really superb spot, convenient for many parts of Brighton & Hove - "Location, location, location" and all that! Two minutes walk from Preston Park & Preston Circus, ~5 minutes to North Laine, <5 minutes to London Road Station & <10 minutes to Brighton Station. The place has previously suited both commuters & city centre workers very well indeed. Ours is a quiet & sheltered corner of BN1, with a gated entrance, safe off-street racks/storage for bikes, and no waiting list for resident parking permits (Zone J). 

Sharing with gay male couple as live-in landlords – one 30, one 40 - relaxed, left-leaning, bookish, educated, busy, hard-working professionals. Sometimes travel for work and occasionally work from home, so house is a quiet, comfortable, relaxed space. We have two bedrooms that we've rented to lodgers for many years - currently the third of us is a chilled, easy-going & super-friendly straight chap of similar age.

We're relatively clean, tidy and always hope to share with much the same. Realistically far from perfect - clean (with a sprinkling of dog hair) though not always the tidiest maybe......So we have a brilliant weekly cleaner, a friend of many years standing who helps out in this regard.

Have had some wonderful previous housemates who have become firm friends. Aim to keep a safe, friendly and welcoming house - when it has worked well a proper home for other thoughtful & together folk, often LBGTQ but by no means exclusively - some super straight/bi folk have been much loved team members. Physically our place is a family home, and that's not massively far from the ideal vibe. Shared houses work best as a positive, respectful & spirited team effort. "Shared space" is just that, "make yourself at home" means just that.

Interests include books, music, film, food, wine, gym, yoga, sci-fi. We live on radios 3, 4, 6Music, FiP & plenty of novels. Large library, flat screen & Mac-mini in sitting room. Buckets of kitchen & bathroom storage. Cosy but well-loved back patio garden.

Also resident one much-loved 7 year old female chocolate Labrador - so love and ideally previous experience of living with dogs a must. We are a very dog friendly house, so would certainly consider another lodger with a pooch if the whole pack (them & us) all got along. We have been a very fun three-hound house in times past.

KING SIZE ROOM 
* Light, bright room with high ceilings and wooden floors 
* King Size (5ft) bed with brand new high-quality mattress, 
* Built-in fitted-wardrobe 
* Chest of drawers & bedside table (if required)
* Room for further storage - previous housemates have added desks, a serious arm chair & bookshelves to make the place their own.
* Plenty of space 

All utilities included in rent - gas, electricity (green/renewable), water, super-fast broadband (shit-hot WiFi & even better LAN), council tax, tv licence, lovely weekly cleaner & dog privileges. It's an straightforward "all-in" proposition, which I've always found much the easier way.

Both lodgers share the one main/family bathroom upstairs which is brand new; we have our own en-suite so this means one bath/shower between two of you.

Ideal are professionals/fully-employed, but again open-minded and fully considerate of individual circumstances, especially during the current madness. We've made all manner of situations work well. Housing benefit recipients have been some great housemates over the years, so no prejudice in that regard. Strictly NO tobacco smokers. All combinations of genders/identities welcome - that said, Tories, Brexiteers, Covid-deniers & anti-vaxers will be decidedly frowned upon....

Room available 18th October, deposit 1 month's rent in advance, 6 month minimum preferred & always agreed (if only informally) - longer term is always better, friendlier & less disruptive for house/team

If you're interested, please could you tell us plenty about yourself & your current situation - it'd be super helpful.

We look forward to hearing from you!

  • House share
  • Brighton
  • BN1
  • £825 pcm (double)

Availability

Available
Now
Minimum term
6 months
Maximum term
None

Extra cost

Deposit
£825.00
Bills included?
Yes

Amenities

Furnishings
Furnished
Garden/terrace
Yes
Disabled access
Living room
shared
Broadband included
Yes

Current household

# housemates
3
Total # rooms
3
Ages
30 to 41
Smoker?
No
Any pets?
Yes
Language
English
Nationality
British
Occupation
Professional
Interests
music, gym, food, yoga, cinema, theatre, books, wine, gardening, dogs
Gender
3 Males

New housemate preferences

Couples OK?
No
Smoking OK?
No
Pets OK?
Yes
Occupation
Don't mind
Min age
25
Max age
55
Gender
Males or females
Report this ad

We have staff moderating our ads 7 days per week, to keep quality high. Please help us in our job and if there is any problem with this ad, for example:

  • The photos are not of the room advertised
  • The description is misleading
  • The ad is generic rather than for a specific available room
  • The advertiser is not a live in landlord
User profile icon
Unknown
Joined SpareRoom because:

Register for FREE

Register via email Remind me later

Register for FREE

Register via email