Skip to content

Wortley results

Double comfy room in quirky townhouse

Ad ref# 16675881

Hello working professional in your mid 30-40s. I’m seeking a like-hearted lodger in my warm and generously-sized townhouse in central Leeds. I’m an easy-going, conscientious homeowner with a small, adorable dog.

On a quiet cul-de-sac in West Leeds, you’ll share a red-brick Victorian mid-terrace house with me (Chris) - a home I’ve lived in for 20+ years and lovingly renovated.

Your private bedroom will be on the first floor (of four). The room has exposed brick and floorboards, a restored original fireplace, built-in cupboard, double radiator, industrial accents and a clothing rail. It’s enormous, measuring almost 20 sqm, with an exceptionally high ceiling (2.6m).

It comes furnished with a double bed and storage, or unfurnished (as you choose). There’s plenty of room for a desk, bookcase, yoga, even bicycles. It’s a cool, custom space inspired by creative studios I visited in Berlin.

Is home a peaceful retreat for you? Do you value space, trust, respect and good communication? If so this could be the home for you.

Some facts about the neighbourhood of Wortley where my house is:

- It’s an easy 25 min stroll into Leeds city centre, 10 min by bus or car.
- A fairly-priced, well-stocked ASDA supermarket is just around the corner, only two minutes away.
-Starbucks, Greggs, cafes, ALDI, Wilko, Post Offices and other useful shops are within walking distance.
- Three verdant parks with impressive views over Leeds are on your doorstep (closest is one min walk away).
- M62, M1, A58 and A64 junctions and Leeds city railway station are all conveniently on this side of the city.
- Neighbours are fellow homeowners and locals who also enjoy the quiet life.
- On-street parking available in front of the house.

The main bathroom is on the same floor as your bedroom. It has a thermostatic rainfall shower, full-sized bath, toilet, sink and washing machine. This is the house bathroom, though I doubt there’ll ever be a queue because I have an en-suite toilet upstairs.

The cosy living room and neat IKEA kitchen with breakfast bar were both recently redecorated and refitted (respectively). There’s the usual modern appliances and kit for any keen chef, plus a sizable pantry.

Rent includes everything (water, superfast fibre broadband, sustainable gas/electricity, council tax band A). I’ll likely arrange a cleaner too. The deposit is one month’s rent up-front, and rent is to be paid one month in advance. I’m open to a trial period to make sure this works for both of us.

The house has smart heating and is well-insulated - so always cosy, even when it’s chilly outside. The house front catches a full morning of warming sunshine too, during brighter months.

Outside is a modest fenced garden/yard with room to sit out. There’s a beautiful cherry blossom tree, colourful shrubs, hawthorns and alpines, plus bird-feeders and a wildflower patch.

I’ve had tenants and friends lodge here in the past, so I’m clear on what it takes to be a decent, diligent landlord. I own this house, and I care about keeping it safe and comfortable for us.

Dog-love is absolutely essential because Laurie, a small and playful terrier lives here too. He’s a cute bundle of energy and super-curious by day, yet sleepy and affectionate in the evenings. He's occasionally mischievous, yet well-trained and pleasantly obedient. It’s likely there’ll be times when you’re both in the house together while I’m out, so I hope you befriend one another.

As for me (your housemate), I’m a self-employed facilitator, coach and improviser who’s vegetarian; I try to live responsibly and in harmony with people and the planet. I lead an active lifestyle, rarely drink and never smoked - I crave fun and variety, but my partying days are (fondly) behind me.

That said, I’m outgoing and friendly, love microadventures, retreats, health and fitness, growing my business and myself. I enjoy relaxing downtime with books, music, conversation, and the odd bit of TV/film, but mindless consumption isn’t the vibe around here.

I work from home flexibly 2 days per week, but mostly work elsewhere (out of the house) on weekdays. I expect you to have similar working patterns, so the house isn’t our main place of work.

I’m hoping for a like-hearted housemate who’s considerate, fair and respectful - mindful of the reality and compromises of shared living. Ideally, at this stage of life you value friendship and trust, over hedonism or drama. If you’re good-humoured and engaged in life, we’ll probably get along just fine.

Do you feel like this is a good fit? If so, reply to let me know why, and please share a bit about you and your needs.

To screen for genuine interest, I’ll only reply to messages that respond directly to this request. Thank you.

  • Flat share
  • Wortley
  • LS12
  • £525 pcm (double)

Availability

Available
15 Mar 2024
Minimum term
3 months
Maximum term
None
  • Short lets considered

Extra cost

Deposit
£525.00
Bills included?
Yes

Amenities

Furnishings
Furnished
Parking
Yes
Garage
No
Garden/terrace
Yes
Balcony/patio
No
Disabled access
No
Living room
shared
Broadband included
Yes

Current household

# flatmates
1
Total # rooms
3
Age
43
Smoker?
No
Any pets?
Yes
Language
English
Nationality
British
Occupation
Professional
Interests
music, reading, cycling, nature, politics, adventures, diy, vegetarian, being active, wellbeing, conversation, performance, coaching, self-development, improv
Gender
Male

New flatmate preferences

Couples OK?
No
Smoking OK?
No
Pets OK?
No
Occupation
Professionals
References?
Yes
Min age
30
Max age
50
Gender
No preference
Vegetarian/vegan
Yes

Report this ad

We have staff moderating our ads 7 days per week, to keep quality high. Please help us in our job and if there is any problem with this ad, for example:

  • The photos are not of the room advertised
  • The description is misleading
  • The ad is generic rather than for a specific available room
  • The advertiser is not a live in landlord

Register for FREE

Register via email

Register for FREE

Register via email